Home > Breaking news > Omotola, Odunlade, Falz, Others Shine At #AMVCA2018

Omotola, Odunlade, Falz, Others Shine At #AMVCA2018

The 6th annual Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards ended on Saturday with some of Nigeria’s biggest movie stars bagging major awards in their respective categories.

They include Omotola Jalade- Ekeinde, Odunlade Adekola, Ali Nuhu, Femi Adebayo, and a host of others.

Nigerian rapper, ‘Falz’ Falana also clinched his second AMVCA for his role in the comedy film, “New Money.’’

A Kenyan movie titled 18 hours produced by Phoebe Ruguru beat Nigerian movies to emerge the AMVCA overall movie in 2018.

The award was hosted by media personality, IK Osakioduwa alongside South Africa’s Minnie Dlamini-Jones.

It also featured performances by Adekunle Gold, Bisola of BB Naija fame, Cobhams Asuquo and Omo Bello, the award-winning Nigerian soprano.

Here is the complete list of winners at the sixth edition of AMVCA

.Best Sound Editor

Tatu – Kolade Morakinyo and Pius Fatoke

Best Picture Editor

18 Hours – Mark Maina

Best Lighting Designer Movie/TV Series

Tatu – Akpe Ododoru, Tunde Akinniyi

Best Cinematography Movies/TV series

Okafor’s Law – Yinka Edward

Best Costume/Designer Movie or TV Series

The Bridge – Ngozi Obasi and James Bessinone

Best Short Film or Online Video

Penance- Michael ‘Ama Psalmist’ Akinrogunde

Best TV/Drama/Comedy series

This Is It – Dolapo Adeleke

Best documentary

The Flesh Business – Dennis Wanjohi

Best makeup artiste in a movie/TV series

Tatu- Hakeem Effect Onilogbo – Thelma Ozy Smith

Best Art Director

Lotanna –Tunji Afolayan

Best soundtrack

Tatu- Evelle Music

Best indigenous language in a movie/TV series (Yoruba)’

Etiko Onigedu – Femi Adebayo

Best indigenous language in a movie/TV series (Hausa)

Mansoor- Ali Nuhu

‘Best indigenous language in a movie/TV series (Igbo)’

Lilian Afegbai- Bound

Best indigenous language in a movie/TV series (Swahili)’

Supa Modo- Sarika Hemi Lakhani

‘Best Movie’ (East Africa)

18 Hours -Phoebe Ruguru

Best Movie Drama West Africa

Isoken- Jade Osiberu

 Best Movie- South Africa

A Road to Sunrise- Shemu Joyah

2018 AMVCA Trailblazer award

Bisola Aiyeola

Tunde Kelani

Best Writer in a TV series/Movie

Alter Ego- Patrick Nnamani, Koye O and Moses Inwang

Best supporting actress

Lydia Forson

 Best supporting actor in a movie/TV series

New Money- Falz

 Best actress in a comedy movie/TV series

Auntie Boss- Nyce Wanjeri

Best actor in a comedy movie/TV series

A Million Baby- Odunlade  Adekola

Best actress in a movie/TV series

Alter Ego- Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde

Best actor in a movie/TV series

Best director in a movie/director

Isoken- Jade Osiberu

Best overall film

18 hours- Phoebe Ruguru (Kenya)

About Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *