Home > Breaking news > Breaking News: APC Wins Bauchi Senatorial By-election

Breaking News: APC Wins Bauchi Senatorial By-election

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has won the Bauchi South senatorial election held on Saturday.

The election was held in the seven local government areas in the senatorial district.

The results, announced by the electoral commission, INEC, shows the APC won in six of the seven local governments in the district.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won in only Bogoro Local Government Area, the council of the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara.

The APC candidate in the election, Lawal Gumau, will thus become the senator-elect for the district.

On Saturday, residents of Bauchi South Senatorial District filed out in their thousands to vote for their preferred candidates in a bye-election organised by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The election was held to fill the vacancy created by the death of the last occupant, Ali Wakili.

Candidates of nine political parties participated in the election. The parties in the contest are All Progressives Congress (APC), Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Social Democratic Party (SDP), Action Peoples Party (APP), Kowa Party, New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) Green Party of Nigeria (GPN), People for Democratic Change (PDC), African Democratic Congress (ADC).

The candidates in the election are Lawal Yahaya Gumau (APC); Isah Yuguda (GPN); Haruna Ayuba (ADC); Aminu Tukur (APP) and Usman Hassan (Kowa Party).

Others are Maryam Bargel (SDP); Husseini Umar (NNPP); Usman Chaledi (PDC); and Ladan Salihu (PDP).

Mr Yuguda of GPN is the immediate former governor of the state.

The local government areas where election took place are Bauchi, Toro, Dass, Tafawa-Balewa, Bogoro, Alkaleri and Kirfi.

The bye-election was largely considered peaceful even though there was low turnout in some polling unit.

The heavy downpour that occurred on Saturday evening is believed to have slowed down the process of collating the results at the local offices.

Some of the polling centres in places like Dass, Bauchi and Tafawa-Balewa also started the voting exercise late due to faulty Card Readers.

APC wins in Dass local government

Das local government result as presented by the Collation officer.
ADC 132
APC 7,432
APP 857
DA 52
GPN 2117
KP 28
MMN 25
NPP 106
SDP 1009
PDP 4028

Toro Local Government Result Announced by Professor Aliyu Muhammed.

ADC 471
APC 30,658
APP 472
DA 77
GPN 5,624
KP 53
MMN 100
MPN 69
NNPP 8075
PDC 277
PDP 8420
SDP 353

Total Valid votes 54,649
Rejected Votes 2731
Total votes cast 57,380

There were cases of ballot box snatching which led to cancellation of votes in 13 units.

PDP wins in Speaker Dogara’s local government

Number of Reg voters : 45599
Accredited: voters 16970

ADC – 60
APC -3992
APP – 1557
DA – 24
GPN – 817
KP – 21
MMN -32
MPN – 39
NNPP – 1924
PDC – 152
PDP – 6,646
SDP – 612

Total Valid Votes 15,872
Rejected Votes- 718
Total votes 16,592

Results were cancelled in 17 units due to over voting (10, 727 votes cancelled)

APC wins in Kirfi Local Government

Kirfi Local Government Result as presented by Prof Elijah Onezegah

Total Reg.voters: 64,653

ADD – 80
APC -11,051
APP 1039
DA 18
GPN 339
KP 12
MMN 29
MPN 15
NNPP 814
PDC 47
PDP 3336
SDP 263

Total Valid votes : 17043
Rejected Votes: 774
Total Valid votes: 17,817

Total votes cancelled due to violence and poor voter education is 2,507

Results of four local governments have now been announced (Dass – APC; Toro – APC; Bogoro – PDP; Kirfi – APC).

The results of the remaining three local governments are now being awaited.

Collation of results resumes at the collation centre

APC wins Bauchi Local Government Area

Results of Bauchi local government presented by Professor Sani Husseini

Total Registered voters -306,939
Total Accredited 91,782

ADC – 725
APC – 38, 958
DA- 159
GPN – 18, 736
KP- 70
MMN – 135
MPN – 109
MNPP 6,322
PDC – 360
PDP – 13,053
SDP – 653

Total Valid votes :-80,623
Rejected Votes: 2920

Total votes cast: 83, 543

Cancellation was made in 28 units of which 15,017 votes were invalidated due over voting.

APC wins in Alkaleri Local Government, amidst mass vote cancellation

Results from Alkaleri as presented by Professor Simon Madugu from ATBU.

Total Registered voters: 107, 072
Total Accredited voters: 27, 575

ADC- 110
APC – 13,-089
APP – 413
DA – 36
GPN – 2, 225
KP – 27
MMN – 34
MPN 32
NNPP 1899
PDC – 88
PDP -6, 245
SDP – 265

Total Valid votes – 24, 463
Rejected Votes – 1,220
Total votes cast 25, 683

Cancellation was recorded in 8 wards amounting to 40 polling units; and 16,298 votes affected. Reasons for cancellation were fracas, over voting, and non-usage of card readers.

Party agents blame massive cancellation on failure of card readers few hours after voting commenced. The agent of PDP at the collation centre, Samaila Burga, insisted that failure to provide alternative to failed card readers may push people to insist they must vote even without card readers.

He also alluded that in some areas in Alkaleri, election did not commence till 3pm due to late arrival of election materials.

“We are saying this, not for immediate measures to be taken, but for avoidance of future occurrence, because if it happens people may be forced to react.”

APC wins Tafawa-Balewa local government

Results for Tafawa-Balewa local government

Total Registered voters – 118,952
Total Accredited voters – 39,796

ADC – 176
APC – 14,309
APP – 6019
DA – 101
GPN – 3, 221
KP – 29
MMN 46
MPN 33
NNPP 2,266
PDC – 173
PDP 8, 528
SDP – 647

Total Valid votes: 35, 548
Rejected Votes: 1815
Total votes cast: 37,363

Reasons for cancellation include over voting and violence by youth insisting unused ballot papers be shared amongst party agents.

About Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

APC Asks Supreme Court To Expunge PDP’s Evidence Against Buhari

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has asked the Supreme Court to expunge some documents tendered ...

What APC Will Do To Atiku, PDP In Supreme Court – Oshiomhole

The National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Adams Oshiomhole has said that his ...